More Handspun Crochet

I’ve been busy conquering my ‘to-crochet’ list. I made another lace shawl for my mother. She had asked for a shawl to coordinate with this hat I made her for Christmas using Teddy Cozy Toez yarn.

Cozy Toez (the spelling pains me) is a budget priced 75% superwash wool, 25% nylon sock yarn which is exceptionally soft and snuggly for just £4.59 per 100g and it comes in a range of solid and variegated colourways. It’s available from independent yarn stores and branches of Habiknit (find Habiknit stores and stalls at markets throughout the north of England).

Hat I designed & crocheted for Mum for Christmas. Not a great photo.
Hat I designed & crocheted for Mum for Christmas. Not a great photo.

I bought a ball of the same variegated green as I made her hat out of, and a ball of cream, olive and brown variegated yarn with a slightly longer colour repeat (not quite long enough to qualify as self-striping though). I used my own ‘Susan Shawl’ pattern, which I plan to release as a free pattern soon. The yarn made a lovely light shawl, perfect for spring, and I ended up using 100g of the green yarn and about 50g of the cream/brown. The shawl grew dramatically during wet blocking and I ended up moving furniture and covering the living room carpet with four of our largest bath towels just to have enough space to pin it out! I was a bit worried that the shawl would be too big, but luckily Mum loved it just the way it was.

Mum channeling her inner catalogue model.
Mum channeling her inner catalogue model.
The HUUUUUGE shawl.
The HUUUUUGE shawl.

I made another variation of the ‘Susan Shawl’ out of my handspun yarn, to give as a thank you gift to Margaret, a family friend who, along with her husband Roger, generously paid for my spinning wheel. This shawl was made using the first skein of yarn I spun on my wheel, along with two more skeins, all spun from various shades of purple ‘lap waste’ I scored on my adventure to World of Wool. I really hope she likes it.

Handspun Susan Shawl
Handspun Susan Shawl

I also spun some wool in different shades of green together with a gorgeous Merino and silk blend in autumn shades, all from the ‘lap waste’ bin again, and created a rustic thick and thin yarn. This became a hat for Roger, crocheted in a simple spiral pattern working only in the back loops.

Handspun hat
Handspun hat

Roger and Margaret are teddy bear fans, so I thought I’d finish off the parcel of thank you gifts with a crocheted bear. I made Douglas the bear out of handspun, undyed Manx Loaghtan yarn, with a little handspun black Shetland for his nose. His vest is crocheted from some hand-dyed Cheviot and Masham wool I spun. I made the pattern up as I went along, and I’m really pleased with how well he turned out. I love his chunky legs, and although it’s not clear from the photos, he has a pleasing little pot-belly. I hope he likes his new home.

Douglas Bear practising his circus skills.
Douglas Bear practising his circus skills.
Douglas Bear climbing on my spinning wheel.
Douglas Bear climbing on my spinning wheel.
Leave a Reply

